DataMuseum.dk

Presents historical artifacts from the history of:

RC9000

This is an automatic "excavation" of a thematic subset of
artifacts from Datamuseum.dk's BitArchive.

See our Wiki for more about RC9000

Excavated with: AutoArchaeologist - Free & Open Source Software.


top - download
Index: @ H T

⟦990d2894e⟧ TextFile

    Length: 1767 (0x6e7)
    Types: TextFile
    Notes: @(#)reboot.Help 13.4 (RC International) 91/09/25
    Names: »Help«

Derivation

└─⟦50656ff4a⟧ Bits:30010538 TX 3.1 Coldstart
    └─⟦bbf173f5c⟧ »0004« 
        └─⟦this⟧ »./usr/sadm/sysadm/menu/machinemgmt/reboot/Help« 

TextFile

#	@(#)reboot.Help	13.4 (RC International) 91/09/25

#ident	"@(#)oamintf:machinemgmt/reboot.Help	1.2"
ABSTRACT:
	The "reboot" task will cause the machine to reboot.  Rebooting the
	machine can be used to get out of some types of system trouble,
	such as when a process cannot be killed, or to change certain types
	of system software, such as drivers or tunable parameters.
	
	Before the machine reboots, it stops all running programs, closes
	any open files, and writes out information to disk (such as
	directory information).
	
	The "reboot" task displays all users currently logged into the
	system before it asks you to specify a "grace period".  The grace
	period is the amount of time (in minutes) the machine will wait
	before it actually shuts down.  Users who are logged in will be
	notified that they must log off within this period or the machine
	will log them off automatically.
	
	NOTE: the visual interface is not available during the reboot.
	After the machine returns to a multi-user mode, you will need to
	reinvoke "sysadm" to use it again.

Form.reboot:reboot:Number of Seconds Before Shutdown Starts
	Enter the number of minutes to wait before rebooting the machine.
	Users will be warned to clean up and log off in the amount of time
	you specify here.  You may specify any integer between '1' and
	'9999'.
	
	Do not enter 'now' unless absolutely necessary because it causes
	an immediate shutdown. It does not allow other users to clean up
	and log off.
	
	WARNING:  Once you press SAVE, the current task cannot be stopped
	and your sysadm session will be terminated.

Form.reboot:message:Warning message to all users
	The message you enter will be sent to all users logged in at
	certain intervals which decreases as shutdown time approaches.